top of page
APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Grocery Shopping Tips!

Okay, so this is like budget bootcamp. But trust me when your finished you will thank your wallet...and me ;) . Every year Americans waste so much food, its time to put a stop to it. I have a list of ways that I save time and money every week on groceries. When I go shopping I only get food for breakfast, healthy snacks, lunch and dinner. On average I spend between $130.00 - $150.00 on groceries weekly. I use to spend less but does anyone else feel like the prices have risen since covid started? Feel free to email me at Amommyinfrederick@yahoo.com with any questions.





1. Go shopping alone

Leave the children at home with hubby and enjoy the alone time. When I shop I get in my "zone" I make a playlist and bring along my earphones. If you take the family along with you they will want to buy more groceries than what you actually need. "Mommy can we get these cookies", "can I have three kinds of cereal" I've heard them all. Sometimes its hard to say no, so just go shopping alone.


2. Set a budget

If you make more money and want to buy more groceries, or if you have a bigger family to feed set your budget accordingly. If you have two hundred to spend weekly, don't go over two hundred.


3. Pick ONE day to shop

One trip to the grocery store is all you need. Making multiple trips also means using more gas. You may also end up spending more money. One day I forgot to get one item and I had to stop by the grocery store after work which also means I had the kids with me. We went for one item and ended up getting six.


4. Make a list and check it twice

No I don't mean your Christmas list silly. Make a Menu, then from that menu make your list of ingredients that you need. Now go to your kitchen and check which items you already have so you don't end up purchasing something that you already have at home. Now that you have your ingredient list, check one more time that you wrote everything down. Then sort everything in order by sections dairy, produce etc. This will help you save time from walking in circles like I use to do haha.


5. Download the App Flipp

​I can't even begin to express how much I love this app. It's literally everything in one place. You can check out all the weekly ads from the top stores. You can write in your grocery list. Say you want some crab meat but your not sure who has it on sale this week, you can search "crab meat" and they will provide you with which store has it on sale and if available some coupons. This is my secret weapon, I love flipp.


6. No junk food

No oatmeal pies, candy, white castle burgers and sugar snacks. I save lots of money this way and we eat healthier. Only buy breakfast, lunch, healthy snacks ( popcorn, trail mix, fruit) and dinner.


7. No overly full fridge and freezer

I hate to see people with super full freezers and refrigerators. Most of that food gets thrown out. Your wasting money and food. My fridge is stocked Sunday evening but come the following Sunday it's bare because its time to go shopping again. I only shop for what I NEED.


8. Bag snacks in portion bags

If I buy trail mix for a snack for the week I grab seven bags to fill up. Nothing

got unused. If I pay for it it will get eaten, no waste in my household.


9. Check your sale ads

If my favorite grocery store Food lion has red bell peppers and chicken breast on sale, i'll make fajitas for dinner. Plan your menu according to whats on sale.


10. Use the same ingredient twice

If kale is on sale, I might use it for dinner one night and make kale chips with the rest of the bag. Try to use up everything so that your not wasting money.


11. Don't go shopping hungry

Have you ever been to Costco and they have those yummy free samples. Yes they are usually tasty but if it isn't on your list, do not buy it. Big corporations would love for you spend more money because that puts more in their pockets, however its not good for you. Most of time that big bag of whatever it is will sit in the freezer and go bad.


12. Make an extra portion of dinner for lunch

Usually a pack of pork chops comes with four so I'll save the fourth for my lunch the next day. If I only have portions for us 3 then ill cut my dinner in half and save the rest for lunch the next day. Not only does this save money but your waste line will be thanking me also ;)


13. Check on children lunches

Children shouldn't eat too much food, that can lead to childhood obesity. With my children's lunch we pack one fruit choice, a vegetable choice, fruit snacks, sandwich, drink and chips. If I buy a box of fruit snacks i'll make sure its a 20 pack so that will last them the entire week, that goes for all of the items in their lunch bag.


Коментарі


bottom of page